More Best Of 2009 So Far Lists

August 5, 2009

Despite the fact that we’re already in the first week of August (the eighth month on the calendar for those of you scoring at home), the best-of lists for the first half of the year continue to trickle in.

This has been a pretty popular new trend this year, especially with bloggers, and late or no we’re not complaining, especially when our clients are still appearing on them.

And none of our clients has been found quite so list-worthy as Darcy James Argue, whose May debut, Infernal Machines (New Amsterdam), continues to capture the hearts and minds of critics everywhere.

That includes both the Ottawa Citizen‘s Peter Hum and Village Voice and DownBeat contributor Jim Macnie, who also chose John Hébert’s Byzantine Monkey (Firehouse 12), the Taylor Ho Bynum Sextet’s Asphalt Flowers Forking Paths (hatOLOGY) and the Mario Pavone Double Tenor Quintet’s Ancestors (Playscape Recordings) among his favorites, though technically the last two actually came out in 2008.

As always, we thank all our media contacts for their ongoing support of independent creative improvised music.

Bagatellen: Halvorson/Radding/Wooley’s Crackleknob

July 8, 2009

In his review of the new Mary Halvorson/Reuben Radding/Nate Wooley release, Crackleknob (hatOLOGY), posted yesterday on Bagatellen, Derek Taylor writes:

“Crackleknob’s success stems in large part from the balance of group concept and contrastive individual expression. Each has a strong and colorful personality to channel and the fluency to ensure that nothing is lost in translation. All ten pieces are collectively improvised, showing off a symmetry of execution that immediately conjures the illusion of composition.”

Taylor Ho Bynum Sextet In Finland, Germany And Switzerland

June 4, 2009
Photo by Scott Friedlander

Photo by Scott Friedlander

Cornetist/composer Taylor Ho Bynum‘s sextet, featuring Matt Bauder (tenor saxophone), Mary Halvorson (guitar), Evan O’Reilly (guitar), Nate McBride (bass) and Tomas Fujiwara (drums), will be in Europe this weekend for three dates in three countries.

06/05: Taktlos Festival (Zurich, Switzerland)
06/06: Kerava Jazz Festival (Kerava, Finland)
06/08: Stadtgardten (Cologne, Germany)

The band is celebrating its recently released second CD, Asphalt Flowers Forking Paths (hatOLOGY).

Crackleknob CD Release Party At Issue Project Room May 24th

May 22, 2009

, a collective trio featuring Nate Wooley (trumpet), Mary Halvorson (guitar) and Reuben Radding (bass), will celebrate the release of its self-titled debut on hatOLOGY this Sunday, May 24th at Brooklyn’s Issue Project Room.

“A compelling example of evenhanded group improvisation,” writes’s Troy Collins, “the self-titled debut of the collective trio Crackleknob demonstrates the sort of congenial rapport fueled by longstanding friendships. A first-rate example of spontaneous musical dialog between empathetic peers, Crackleknob combines the timbral adventurousness of European free-improvisation with post-AACM dynamics and contemporary trends in lower-case improv.”

Crackleknob Reviewed In The Wire

May 15, 2009

Veteran jazz critic Brian Morton reviews Crackleknob‘s new self-titled debut on hatOLOGY in the June issue of The Wire.

“At first you might think nothing very much is going on,” he writes, “then you realise the most interesting passages are those which have been trimmed down to just a couple of plucked strings, unanchored bass notes and lonely brass breaths and cries. The action’s in the intervals and in the spatial distribution of sound, but there’s a solid architecture to each piece.”

The group, which features trumpeter Nate Wooley, guitarist Mary Halvorson and bassist Reuben Radding, will celebrate its new release with a performance at Brooklyn’s Issue Project Room on May 24th.

BBC 3’s Jazz on 3 Presents the Taylor Ho Bynum Sextet Live at Vision Festival XIII

November 11, 2008

This week’s episode of Jazz on 3, which first aired in the UK on Monday night, features the Taylor Ho Bynum Sextet‘s set from Vision Festival XIII in New York this past June.  

The group, which features Matt Bauder (tenor saxophone and bass clarinet), Mary Halvorson (guitar), Evan O’Reilly (guitar), Jessica Pavone (violin and bass guitar) and Tomas Fujiwara (drums), just released its second CD, Asphalt Flowers Forking Paths (hatOLOGY 675).

The show also features an interview with Bynum done in New York by the New York Times‘ Nate Chinen. Streaming audio of the entire program is available through next Monday.