Mary Halvorson Trio on’s ongoing series, Take Five: A Weekly Jazz Sampler, turned its eye to avant-garde jazz this week to feature “five guitarists who turned the guitar inside out.”  

Included with four tracks by Sonny Shorrock, James Blood Ulmer, Masayuki Takayanagi and Nels Cline is “Momentary Lapse (No. 1)” from the Mary Halvorson Trio’s recently released debut, Dragon’s Head (Firehouse 12 Records).

Author Lars Gotrich writes, “With bassist John Hebert and drummer Ches Smith, ‘Momentary Lapse (No. 1)’ is full of stop-on-a-dime tempo changes, angular rhythms and fleeting moments of uneasy beauty. Halvorson isn’t afraid to rock out Hendrix-style, albeit with fractured chord changes and scales falling like pterodactyls from heaven.”


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: